Credits

Showing posts with label E-Travel Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label E-Travel Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, May 25, 2012

Things I love in Las Vegas

Las Vegas is the dream destination of millions of tourists worldwide. Do you think I am lucky enough to spend a two months vacation in the "World's Entertainment Capital"? I believed I am and I truly had a fabulous time in Las Vegas.

The amazing Fountains of Bellagio.

I love watching the Fountains of Bellagio when I was there. This is always a spectacular show for me. The choreographed water feature with performances set to light and music are truly fantastic. The show takes place every 30 minutes in the afternoons and early evenings, and every 15 minutes from 8 pm to midnight. The best thing I love, it is a free show. I hope to see it again this year.

I love gallivanting in Caesars Palace. This is one of my fave hotels where I always go roaming around. If I get hungry, there are restaurants inside. I never get bored because I can go window shopping in its Forum Shops. And yes, I love taking pictures in all of its corners.

Fremont Street Experience was great! This is one of places you need to experience when you are in Las Vegas. It is a pedestrian mall and attraction downtown in this city. If I am not mistaken, its LED display canopy is the biggest around the world. There are free shows like live bands every night in this street. I love it there!
The Fremont Street Experience with its LED canopy. I was there!
Visit to the different world class hotels. There are a lot of interesting themed hotels in Las Vegas. For example, if you want to experience Luxor in Egypt, go visit Luxor Hotel or maybe The Venetian hotel to feel the atmosphere of Venice, Italy. Paris Hotel will  give you the experience of  being in Paris, France.

The Eiffel Tower in Paris Hotel in Las Vegas.
These are only some of the things I love during my two months vacation in Las Vegas last 2008. That time,  I boarded one of the Delta Air Lines Flights from Munich to MCCarran International Airport and vice versa.

If you are visiting Las Vegas in the future, be sure to plan it ahead. You can always find affordable accommodation that best suit your needs and budget. American Airlines also offers cheap flights there in all seasons of the year. Like what I mentioned, plan your vacation ahead and I know for sure you can  save time and money when doing it.

Thursday, May 10, 2012

2012 Top Events in England

Are you visiting  England this year? You might be lucky to witness some of the great events and celebrations  during your visit. Whether you love sports, music, history or a Royal watcher,  you always have something  to do and to experience  in England.

2012 Summer Olympic Games in London-  Some of you might had already booked your international flights and accommodation  to UK's capital city to witness one of the greatest  events  this year. The  2012 Summer Olympic Games  will be held in London from  July  27 to August 12, 2012.  If you  love sports, visiting London  during this event will be a memorable experience for you.

The 2012 Summer Paralympics Games   will also take place in London, UK from August 29 to September 9, 2012.

The Queen's Diamond Jubilee- If you are  a Royal watcher, this event will be a  perfect  one for you. Queen Elizabeth's  Diamond Jubilee will take place from June 2-5, 2012.  Her reign for 60 years is the second longest in history for a British  monarchy.

There will be some programs  during this celebration. A concert at Buckingham Palace, a flotilla with 1000 boats along the River Thames and the the lighting of 2012 beacons and a Big Jubilee Lunch.

The Houses of Parliament and the Big Ben. This was taken during my three weeks trip in England last 2008.
World Pride- Another event which is very famous and promoted  especially for  lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender. It  is organized by Interpride and  London will be the host this year. Parades and other cultural activities will take place in UK's capital. This will be a  two week festivities and will take place from June 23 – July 8, 2012. The parade around London city on July 7 will be the highlight of this event.

There are still still a lot of top events in England this year. Depending on your taste, you can always find everything in England. Be sure to book your flights and accommodation ahead of time.

I was browsing for cheap flights in Easyjet website last night and I found some cheap ones. I hope I can visit London again this year. My three weeks  vacation in England last 2008 is still not enough to see everything. Some friends are also waiting for me there.

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Planning For You Trip- Things To Remember

The spring weather is getting friendlier now and summer in Europe is almost coming. I believed many of you would love to get out and relax for awhile and want to go away from the corners of your workplace or home. Some might be planning for summer trips in any destinations in Europe or even worldwide.

I love to travel and from the many experiences that I gathered during my trips, I would love to share some things to remember when you are planning to go for a holiday.

Plan Your Trip Ahead- You are very lucky if you can get some really cheap last minute holidays. This is the reason why you need to plan your trip ahead in order for you to save time and money. Besides you can also avoid stress and hassles when your trip is planned ahead. If you are planning to go for a group trip especially bus trips, it is better to book it ahead to get your desired seats on the bus. Sometimes if you book it earlier, you also get discounts.


Book Flights and Hotels in Advance- I remember our Europe trip last 2010. A friend from the United States of America visited me in Europe and we explored some cities and countries here. We booked our flights and hotels five months before and we truly saved a lot of money from it.

Travellers who are planning to explore Europe have advantage now because there are a lot of low-cost airlines that offers cheap flights to many European destinations. Easyjet, virgin atlantic, Ryanair, Air Berlin, Wizz Air, Vueling and German Wings are only some of these. Booking a flybe flight is also very convenient and affordable.

There are also a lot of travel sites online who offer all sorts of accommodation depending on your type and budget.

Bring The Most Important Things You Need- Do you know anybody who forgot to bring his/her Identification card or passport when he/she is already lining-up on the check-in area at the airport. This can be a worst thing you do. Always check your bag or wallet since an ID card or a passport is a very indispensable document when you travel. If you are taking medication, always bring it with you.

If you want to document your travel, bringing journal papers or notebook and pens are a must. Taking pictures with your cameras will surely bring you a lot of travel memories. Whatever things that are very important for you to bring, be sure to have it in your luggage the day or week before you leave.

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Turkey Vacation- Places We Visited

Let me share again another travel experience we had in Turkey. It was so far a wonderful 10-day trip we had in this Eurasian country. It is called Eurasian since it is located both in Asia and Europe. I can't believed that Turkey has also a lot of things to offer to every tourist and visitor like me.

I immediately booked the holiday package to Turkey when I saw it in a travel leaflet sent to us last year. I don't have to search for flight reviews for any airlines during that trip because it was already included in the package. Accommodation with breakfasts and dinners, tours to different places, cheap flights, airport transfers, tour guides were also included in that trip. I can't believed that we will also stay in one of the 5-star hotels near Istanbul for four nights. It was really a very cheap holiday for only 799.00 Euros all include.

Some of the places we visited during that holiday
were;

Istanbul- This is Turkey's cultural and financial center. It is also the most populous city in the country. No wonder you can see a lot of newly erected buildings in the city and its surroundings, a sign that Istanbul is continually developing. Among the sights we visited were the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Spice Bazaar, Grand Bazaar, Basilica cistern, Dolmabahce palace and many others. We were not able to go inside Topkapi Palace because it was under renovation that time.

The dome of the Sultan Ahmed Mosque or Blue Mosque in Istanbul. We were there last September 2011.

A day or two is not enough to discover everything in Istanbul but I was quite contented that at least I experienced it. The highlight of our sightseeing in Istanbul was the cruise we had in Bosphorus strait to the Golden Horn. It was awesome!

Ephesus- The architecture in this area truly fascinated me. I can't imagine how it was built during those ancient times. You have to remember that Ephesus was an ancient Greek City. It is one of the major tourist attractions in the country. The temple of Hadrian, the Theater, the Celsus Library, the Odeon and the Gate of Augustus are only some of the famous monuments to see in Ephesus.

I am quite sad because we were not able to visit the House of Mary and the Tomb of John the Apostle at the Basilica of St. John. These might be a reason that I might visit it again. I am glad because we had the chance to visit the site of the Temple of Artemis.

The Library of Celsus in Ephesus, Turkey. I was there! It was an amazing experience!

Aphrodisias- Another interesting archaeological site we visited in Turkey. It was a small city in Caria, on the southwest coast of Asia Minor. Aphrodisias was named after Aphrodite, the Greek goddess of love. This is where you can find some of the most impressive Roman ruins in Turkey.

Some tourists found Aphrodisias a better site to visit than Ephesus but I found Ephesus more interesting. The Tetrapylon, the Agora, Bouleuterion, Temple of Aphrodite, Stadium and the Bathhouse are among the famous structures in this area. You can also visit the Aphrodisias Museum which is included in the entrance free in this site.

The Trojan Horse in Troy, Turkey. I guess I am going back to this place in the future because we really never had the chance to go up to the horse. Besides it was raining so hard during our visit.

Troy- I believed you are very familiar with Trojan virus especially if you are using a computer. It is said that the name of this computer virus was derived from Troy. This city is considered to be factual and legendary. It is best known for being the setting of the Trojan War described in Iliad, one of the epics attributed to Homer.

It was raining during our visit there but it was worth-it especially knowing its archaeological importance and history. Troy or Troia is now in the list of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites since 1998.

Other places we visited during that 10-day trip last year were Izmir, Pamukkale, Bursa and Pergamum. It was so far one of the fascinating and awesome trips I had last 2011.

Friday, March 23, 2012

Las Vegas Holiday- Things To Do and To See

Las Vegas, the dream city to visit of millions of tourists from around the world! Would you believe that I am one of those lucky ones who was able to visit the so-called "Entertainment Capital of the World". It was truly a great experience visiting Las Vegas. I could still remember boarding one of the Delta Air Lines Flights departing from Munich International Airport last May 2008. It was quite a long flight but it was it was all worth it.

I can recommend some things to you when visiting Las Vegas, Nevada.

Watch the Musical Fountains of Bellagio Hotel- This is one thing I love about this luxury hotel. Bellagio's Musical Fountain is simply awesome! The dancing fountains of Bellagio run every day on the half hour, and every quarter hour during the evening. Music played are from opera to pop to broadway and to classical. This is truly and amazing show and a must-to-see when in Las Vegas. You don't have to worry, you can watch it for free.

The Musical Fountains in Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas Strip, Nevada. This was taken during my two months vacation last 2008.

Fremont Street Experience- Another thing not to miss when in Las Vegas. I had a great time sightseeing in this part of Las Vegas. This area has become a major tourist attraction for downtown Las Vegas. Some things I love there are the free shows and concerts. I also did some souvenir shopping in this pedestrian mall. The main attraction there is the barrel vault canopy which is 90 ft (27 m) high and 1,500 ft (460 m) in length. The Neon Museum is also located
at the Fremont Street Experience and the city's annual New Year's Eve party is held there.

Experience the Gondola Ride at the Venetian Hotel- This is one thing I miss when I was in Las Vegas. It was actually not a big deal for me because I already experienced riding the gondola in Venice, Italy. The ride also include a visit to St. Mark's Square. If you haven't experience riding one in Venice, why not do it in Venetian Hotel? For sure, it will be a memorable thing for you.

Gondola Ride in Venetian Hotel, Las Vegas.

Go Shopping in Las Vegas- The Sin City is a shopping paradise for those who are shopaholic. I can't believed when I spent a 4-digit number only for shopping in Las Vegas. It was so far the biggest shopping expenditure I had during my holiday. Most luxury hotels have shopping malls like the Forum in Colosseum and the Grand Canal Shoppes at the Venetian Hotel. I also bought some branded stuffs at Las Vegas Outlet Center. The Fashion Show Mall and the Town Square are also great places for shopping.

I had a great time shopping at Las Vegas Outlet Center.

Visit The Different Themed-Hotels- There is a saying that goes, "If you want to visit a lot of places in the world, go to Las Vegas." You can see the different giant mega-casino hotels in this city, decorated with lavish care and attention to detail to create a fantasy-like atmosphere. Their names and themes summon romance, mystery, and far-away and exotic destinations.

The Sphinx inside the Luxor Hotel in Las Vegas. I was there!

Visiting Caesars Palace for example makes you imagine that you are in Rome, Italy while the Venetian Hotel makes you feel like in Venice. Luxor Resort, the Egyptian-themed hotel with a massive pyramid makes you feel like visit Luxor in Egypt. Paris Hotel also makes you travel to Paris in France. There are just a lot of interesting and worth-to-see themed hotels in Las Vegas.

These are only a few things to do and to see in Las Vegas. During my two-months stay there, I haven't experience everything. This is also one of the reasons why I am visiting Las Vegas again this coming summer. This time I wish to experience one of the American Airlines flights when flying to Las Vegas, Nevada. There are also other places and states that I wish to visit when this holiday will push through this summer.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Interesting Places to Visit in Bavaria

Bavaria is the largest and also the most beautiful state of Germany. It is also the most visited and the most popular tourist destination in this country.

If you are visiting Bavaria, here are some of the interesting places I recommend you to visit.

Munich- Your visit to Bavaria is not complete at all without visiting its beautiful capital city. Munich is the third largest city of Germany, after Berlin and Hamburg. There are a lot to see and to experience in this charming city including its fine culture, beautiful architecture and interesting museums. If you have the chance make a perfect timing to visit the world's most famous and biggest festival, the annual Oktoberfest beer celebration.

Don't miss to visit its famous sights such as the Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady), the Marienplatz (Mary's Square), Nymphenburg Palace, BMW Headquarters, Maximilianeum, the Residenz, Olympiapark and many more. If you have the chance, make some sidetrips to Linderhof Palace and the famous Neuschwanstein Castle of King Ludwig II of Bavaria in Hohenschwangau.

Bamberg- This is also an interesting city to visit in Bavaria. It is located in Upper Franconia on the river Regnitz close to its confluence with the river Main. Its historic city center is included in the list of the UNESCO world heritage sites.

The historic Old Town Hall in Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany. Taken during my third visit last January 2012

Walking around the city is the best thing for you to do when seeing its sights. The Cathedral, Neue Residenz, Klein-Venedig or Little Venice, Alte Hofhaltung, Old Town Hall and the Michaelsberg Abbey are onyl some of the sights not to miss when visiting Bamberg. For those who love beer, try the Rauchbier or the Smoked beer which is unique to Bamberg.

Würzburg- It is a beautiful, historic, and lively city that is often overlooked by foreign visitors. This city is famous for its Residence which is listed in the UNESCO cultural world heritage site. It is regarded as one of the finest palaces in Europe with its Baroque architecture. It is also called as the "University City" and the "City of Many Churches". Würzburg is also home to one of the oldest churches in Germany, built in the 8th century on top of a former pagan shrine. Other famous sights include the Old Main Bridge, the Fortress Marienberg, Marienkapelle (Mary's Chapel), the Julius Spital and the Haus zum Falken.

A statue on the Old Main Bridge in Würzburg. You can see the Fortress Marienberg at the background.

Regensburg- Its old city has been listed in the UNESCO World Heritage site since 2006. It is considered to be one of the oldest towns of Germany. Its main sights include the Dom or the Cathedral, the Roman remains Porta Praetoria, the Stone Bridge, The Church of St. James, Abbey church of St. Emmeram, the Town Hall, the Goldener Turm (golden tower) and the botanical garden located on the University of Regensburg campus. You can also make a sidetrip to the Walhalla, the Parthenon of Bavaria located in Donaustauf some kilometers away from Regensburg.

My friend from England, with the Old Stone Bridge in Regensburg as her background.

If you are planning to make a holiday in Germany, be sure to plan your trip ahead to save time and money. You can browse the internet for cheap hotels and discount Flights to Germany. There are three international airports in Bavaria; Munich International Airport, Nuremberg and Memmingen. Ryanair, one of the low-cost airlines in Europe lands in Memmingen airport. You can always find cheap flights with Ryanair in any Europe destination. Be sure to book your flights ahead to avail of discount prices.

Other recommended places of interest in Bavaria include Rothenburg od der Tauber, Nuremberg, Straubing, Bayreuth, Augsburg, Erlangen, Berchtesgaden, Passau, Chiemsee, the Bavarian Forest and many other more.

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Planning for A Trip To The U.S.

There are just a lot of travel plans for this year. I am hoping that most of these will be materialized. Some were already booked and some are still on its planning period. As much as possible I want to plan all these trips as early as I can to avoid hassle and stress. Undoubtedly, I already started to search for affordable airlines and cheap hotels for this plan. One of the travel destinations included in the travel plan is United States of America. I am also planning to visit Canada when time and budget are available.

Since three weeks ago until now, one thing that keeps me busy is searching for cheap Delta Air Lines Flights online. I once boarded this airline during my first holiday to the U.S. last 2008 and I am quite contented with their service.

I am also trying to make a list of the places that I want to visit in this holiday. Here is the tentative itinerary.

Las Vegas, Nevada- This was my port of entry during my first visit to the U.S. last 2008. I boarded one of the Delta Air Lines flights from Munich, had a stop-over in Atlanta, Georgia and then headed to Las Vegas Mc Carran International Airport. It was quite a long flight but maybe due to too much excitement visiting the U.S. for the first time, I did not felt so tired at all.

The "Sin City" and the "Entertainment Capital of the World" is truly fabulous! I had a lot of fun and memories in this city. That two months holiday I had there was truly a fantastic one. I can't wait to visit it again hopefully this coming summer season. I am quite excited to see some family members there.

the replica of the Arc de Triomphe in Paris Las Vegas. This was taken during my visit last 2008.

Phoenix, Arizona- I am not quite sure if the wedding that I will be attending will be held in Phoenix. This is actually the main reason why I am going to the U.S., to witness the incoming wedding of my sister sometime in June or July this year. Her fiancee currently lives in this capital city of Arizona.

I would like to visit some of the sights there including the Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix Art Museum, Arizona Science Center,St. Mary's Basilica, Tovrea Castle and I would for sure love to walk around downtown Phoenix.

Seattle, Washington- My friend who temporarily lives in Germany will accompany her daughter who will be going to one of the universities in Washington. We are planning to meet each other there sometime in July. From there, we might be taking a cross-country trip to Vancouver, Canada. I hope this will be materialized.

A sightseeing to the Pike Place Market, Space Needle or a visit to some of its museums and parks would surely be included if this trip will push through.

Vancouver, Canada- I have some acquaintances and friends living in Vancouver. They have been mentioning that this city is a wonderful place to live-in. It is being frequently ranked as one of the "best cities to live in". No wonder my friends love it living there. It is also famous for its majestic natural beauty being nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Coast Mountains.

I am hoping that I can meet my friend in Washington so that we can make a trip to one of the beautiful cities of Canada. I consider Vancouver a wonderful and a beautiful destination to visit in the future.

There are still a lot of cities and states that I would like to include in my second visit to the United States. I have to finalize everything once I know the exact wedding date of my sister.

Monday, February 13, 2012

Getting From Madrid to Lisbon

There are a lot of ways in getting from Madrid, the capital city of Spain to Lisbon, Portugal's capital city. I have been researching for the best, the cheapest and the most convenient way to travel from Madrid to Lisbon. Since two weeks now, I have been searching online on how to get to Lisbon and vice versa considering my time and budget.

Here are the the results of the research I made the past weeks in getting from Madrid to Spain for March 2012 travel.

Travel With the Train

You can surely travel from Madrid to Lisbon with the train. Spain's Renfe trains has a daily train travelling to Lisbon. They also have a night train called Trenhotel which departs at 22:25 from Madrid Chamartin train station and arrives in Lisbon at 7:41 a.m which is around 9 hours and 16 minutes travel time. Fares vary from 60.10 € to 203.40 € depending on the type of seats you want to reserve. The train has cafeteria and restaurant, and departs from Madrid Chamartín station (subway: Chamartín, line 10). You can visit their site at renfe.com.

Travel By Plane

I believed this is the most convenient and the most cheapest way for me to go to Lisbon or Lisboa departing from Madrid. I have been searching for the cheapest flights since two weeks now and the most cheapest one I found was from Easyjet. As of today, I found a flight departing from Madrid at 7:40 a.m. on March 13, 2012 cost 12.99 € , return flight on March 15, 2012 at 4:00 p.m. cost 15.99 €. Together with admin fee of 11.00 € and a 20-kilo baggage fee of 20.00 €, all in all the return flight only cost 61.98 €. I found the standard fare in Easyjet flight the cheapest of all.

Other airlines that serve the route Madrid-Lisboa are the Portuguese airlines Bra, Portugalia, Tap Air Portugal. The Spanish low-cost airlines Iberia and Vueling also have good reputation in this route.

By Bus

If you prefer to travel by bus or coach from Madrid to Lisbon, ALSA (alsa.es) run buses to this route. Avanza Bus (avanzabus.com) also runs a service between the two capitals. There are two departures daily from Madrid at 12:00 and 21:00. Departures from Lisbon every 10:30 a.m. and 20:15 daily.

The bus travel time from Madrid to Lisbon takes 7.5 to 8.5 hours or more depending on the traffic situation and what time the bus departs Madrid.

Driving With a Car

If you want to have more freedom when travelling, driving with a car might be the best option for you. Madrid is around 628 km from Lisbon which takes around 6-8 hours depending on the traffic and also depends on the stops and rests you want to make in between your driving. One way estimated fuel cost ranging from 70.00 to 100.00 €.

I believed I am taking the plane when I decided to go to Lisbon next month. I have to finalized this before the end of this week.

Travel trip:
Plan your trip ahead in order to avoid hassles and stress.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Top Sights To See in London

Visiting one of the beautiful and top megacities not only in Europe but also in the world can be a fabulous experience. London, the capital and largest city of United Kingdom and England is truly a must-to-see when visiting Europe. It has maintain its status as one of the global capital of fashion, culture, politics, finance and trade.

I was so happy and contented when I visited London three years ago. Boarding for the first time in a British Airways flight was also a nice experience for me.

Here are some of the sights not to miss when visiting London, England

London Eye- I did not expected that a dream came to reality when I finally had the chance to ride London Eye last 2008. It was one of my greatest dreams to ride this giant wheel when visiting London. The happiness that I felt was overwhelming. The London Eye is now the third largest observation wheel after being surpassed by the Star of Nanchang in 2006 and the Singapore Flyer in 2008. It is situated on the South Bank of the Thames. Once you are on the top of this wheel, you will have a magnificent views over London.

London Eye during my three weeks trip in England last 2008.

Piccadilly Circus- I thought I can only see this place in postcards or via internet. It was evening when I experienced Piccadilly Circus. It is actually the best time to visit it so that you can see the huge, iconic neon hoarding on its northeastern side. At the middle of it, you can see the statue of Eros. This area is one of the most photographed sights in London.

Buckingham Palace- I was not able to go inside the Buckingham Palace during our visit last winter 2008. It is only open for visitors during summer season. This palace is the official London residence of the queen. I still recommend this sight to be visited even during winter season. It is a must-to-see when visiting London. Be sure to witness the changing of the royal guards.

The Buckingham Palace. I also witness the changing of the Royal Guards there.

Tower Bridge - Remember the song "London Bridge is falling down"? I guess it is wrong because it is not the London Bridge that is falling down but the Tower Bridge. It is a suspension bridge over River Thames in London, England. This bridge is considered to be the iconic symbol of London. I hope to visit its engine rooms and the Tower Bridge exhibition in my next visit there.

The Palace of Westminster and the Big Ben- All these two are adjacent to its other. The Big Ben is a the nickname for the great bell of the clock at the north end of the Westminster Palace. This building is the seat of the United Kingdom Parliament which belong to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Site.

I read an article last year that the Big Ben is slowly reclining. It might be slowly following the leaning tower of Pisa. Quite interesting!

The Big Ben and the Palace of Westminster. I hope to go inside this building in my next visit.

There are still a lot of sights that are worth-to-see in London. It was a great experience for me to see some of it. The St Paul's Cathedral, the Tower of London, the Trafalgar Square, Canary Wharf are only some of the other sights that I experience. One of the highlights when I was there, was my visit to the Madame Tussaud. This wax museum is very interesting.

If you are planning to visit this lovely city, be sure to plan your trip ahead. Book your accommodation and means of transportation in advance. There are some low cost airlines like flybe and Ryanair available for booking in the internet.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Planning for a Trip to the Baltic States

Another year is here. It is time to plan again for some trips anywhere anytime around the world. I already have some target places and until now I am still on the process of deciding which place am I going to visit first. One of my targets is Baltic region. There are a lot of interesting places to visit in this region and I am quite sure anytime this year I can visit those places. Since the beginning of January, I already started to search for cheap flights to any of the international airports in any Baltic States. Not only that, I also read some flight reviews to know which airlines are really good and affordable to fly to this region.

Among the cities I wish to visit in the Baltic region are;

Riga- dubbed as "The Paris of the Baltics", this is the capital city of Latvia. It is also the biggest city in the Baltic States. One of the city's must to see is its Old Town which is one of the many World Heritage Sites in Europe. Its old buildings have made Riga one of the most attractive cities in Europe. There are a lot of things to experience in Riga. From its historical buildings and architecture, museums, visiting a zoo, shopping, night life, entertainment and a lot more.

Riga is accessible by train, ferry, bus or airplane depending on your point of origin especially from any parts of Europe.

Vilnius- In 2009, Lithuania's capital city was the European Capital of Culture, along with Linz, Austria. Vilnius is also known as the "Jerusalem of the North" because of the many Judaism scholars and rabbis that lived and worked in this city. Their over 700 years of their presence in Lithuania, the Jews created a rich and diverse culture in this country.

The Old Town (UNESCO World Heritage List), Vilnius Cathedral, St. Ann's Church, Gediminas Castle, National Museum of Lithuania, Three Crosses Hill and the Artilery Bastion of Vilnius Defensive Wall are only some of the imposing sights to visit.

Sadama, Tallin. photo credit Jose Rambaud

Tallinn- This is also one of the most interesting cities to visit in the Baltic States. It is a historical city dating back to the medieval times. This global city is the capital of Estonia and also its largest city. There are a lot of things to do and experience there. Its Old Town which belong to the list UNESCO World Heritage Sites is a must to see. It is also famous for its beaches and music festivals.

You have to know that along with Turku, Finland, Tallinn was a European Capital of Culture for 2011.

Other places and sights worth to see in the Baltic States are Klaipeda, Kaunas,Curonian Spit,Hill of Crosses, Parnu, Kuressaare, Saaremaa, Kuldiga, Livu Akvapark, Sigulda and many more.

Share this

 

Some Rights Reserved © 2007-2013 Simply The Best | Please visit my other blogs!!

Disclaimer: This site contains links to other Web sites. The owner of this blog has no control over the content or privacy practices of those sites. The information provided here is for general information purpose only. The owner doesn't claim full ownership of all articles posted on this site. If the respective copyright owners wish for their articles to be taken down, feel free to e-mail me or leave a comment and the links will be taken down immediately.